Minutes

College of Education Faculty Council Meeting April 30, 2014 9:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

Members attending: Mike Putman, Pamela Shue, Susan Furr, Jennifer Hathaway, Do-Hong Kim, Pam Lassiter, Charles Hutchison, Lindsay Flynn (by phone) New members were invited but were unable to attend.

- **1.** Call to Order
 - a. Approval of March 26, 2014 Minutes Dr. Jennifer Hathaway made the motion to approve the minutes. Dr. Susan Furr seconded the motion. Minutes were approved by common consent.
- 2. Workload Policy Review Committee Update

Mike stated that the workload policy committee has been formed. Diane Browder and Bob Rickelman will chair it. Members that have signed on so far are:

- Counseling Phyllis Post
- Ed Leadership Claudia Flowers and Lynn Ahlgrim-Delzell
- MDSK Warren DiBiase and Paul Fitchett
- Special Ed Charlie Wood and David Test
- Reading and El Ed Drew Polly and Amy Good

On May 20, Mike will meet with the co-chairs and give them their charge. They will start the work in the fall.

- 3. Suggestions for 2014-2015 Faculty Council Agenda Items
 - Re-visit the annual report document
 - > Website updates for annual reviews, adding the examples of diversity
 - Mike recommended that the chair meets with dean prior to meeting for agenda items
 - Faculty Mentoring
 - Salary compression
 - Asking faculty to bring issues to the Council
 - > Why are Associate Faculty not going up for Full Professor, what are the obstacles
 - > Method communication with stakeholders and keeping engaged

4. Election of COED Faculty Council Officers for 2014-15

The following officers were elected for next year:

Council Chair – Lyndon Abrams Vice Chair – Susan Furr

Secretary – Jennifer Hathaway

5. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned 9:35 a.m.

Next Faculty Council Meeting: Date TBA (September 2014) 9:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. COED 205