Minutes College of Education Faculty Council Meeting Wednesday- April 21, 2010 9:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Dean's Conference Room COED 205

Members Attending: Mary Lynne Calhoun, Richard Hartshorne, Michael Matthews, Kelly Anderson, Lyndon Abrams, Scott Kissau, Paola Pilonieta, Adam Harbaugh, Stephen Hancock, Do-Hong Kim, Kok-Mun Ng

- 1 Call to Order Dr. Ng
 - Approval of March 31, 2010 Minutes Dr. Stephen Hancock made the motion to approve the minutes. Dr. Michael Matthews seconded the motion. Minutes were approved.
- 2. International Faculty Well-being Kok-Mon

Some ideas that were presented; Social events for faculty and their families such as the International Festival, advice to faculty on such issues as their visa, annual workshops sponsored by the College of Education and the Dean to hear their issues, generate a welcome packet which is both paper and web-based sponsored by the Internationalization Committee and the College of Education, invite International faculty to speak on issues of relevance, and having an international mentor. Dean Calhoun will raise these issues when she meets with the Provost. The Dean expressed that there is a possibility that this can be campus-wide but would still like to see a college-based interest.

Kok-Mun stated that visa concerns are life changing and that an advocate is needed. The Dean recommended starting with the Chair, then the Dean, Office of International Programs and then the Provost. Please bring any concerns to Dean Calhoun's attention. Kok-Mun asked the Dean to bring to the Provost's attention the formation of an Asian-American Caucus much like the African-American Caucus for the international faculty. Lyndon asked for support for the chairs to be informed on these issues. The Dean stated that the Provost meets with the chairs two times a month at which time these issues can be addressed.

3. Nomination of Officers

Members for the Faculty Council for 2010-2011 Academic Year are: SPCD – Michael Matthews and Pamela Shue REEL – Paola Pilonieta and Stephen Hancock MDSK – Adam Harbaugh and Lan Quach EDLD – Do-Hong Kim and Lisa Merriweather CSLG – Laura Veach and Lyndon Abrams

Council Chair – Lyndon Abrams was elected Vice Chair – Stephen Hancock was elected. Secretary – Pamela Shue was elected.

4. Dean's Report

The Dean stated that we are mid-point in our accreditation review cycle. The NCATE visit will be in 2013. We will be revisiting our policies in our changing environment to get ready for the visit. Some areas are:

- a) We would like to move towards a 100% on-line Faculty Handbook with the capability of updates being made daily. The Dean asked for everyone's support.
- b) The standards state that all relevant minutes be available for faculty review. Currently, College and Faculty Council minutes are available on the website but we would like to add Departmental Meeting minutes, PEC and Curriculum Committee minutes. The Dean will work with Ed and Kathie on design. If there are other documents that you think need to be posted, please let the Dean know.
- c) In the area of conditions of part-time faculty, there was a recommendation for a ¹/₂ day inservice. We now host an annual P/T Faculty Orientation in the fall that includes chairs, office managers, part time faculty, the Dean and Associate Dean that focuses on issues and information that is important.
- d) To be implemented in Fall 2010, a college-wide meeting with breakfast for mentors outlining their responsibilities.
- e) Provide Peer Observation and feedback to Clinical and Part-Time faculty

For further review, the report is posted on the Assessment page.

- 5. Other Business There was no other business.
- 6. Adjournment The meeting was adjourned at 10:35 a.m.

Next Faculty Council Meeting: Fall 2010