## Minutes College of Education Faculty Council Meeting Wednesday- April 20, 2011 9:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Dean's Conference Room COED 205

Members Attending: Mary Lynne Calhoun, Lyndon Abrams, Lisa Merriweather, Laura Veach, Paola Pilonieta, Michael Matthews, Pamela Shue, Scott Kissau, Do-Hong Kim Members not present: Stephen Hancock, Lan Kolano

- 1 Call to Order Dr. Abrams
  - a. Approval of March 3<sup>rd</sup> and 23rd, 2011 Minutes Dr. Michael Matthews made the motion to approve the minutes. Dr. Scott Kissau seconded the motion. Minutes were approved by common consent.
- 2. Mary Lynne received by email a Resolution requesting the academic department to email the class list serve when a professor reports that he or she is cancelling a class. This resolution was approved by the Student Government Association. Many on the Council stated that this practice was already being done. Scott added that CMS employees cannot access their email from work. Mary Lynne asked council members to share this at their department meetings.
- 3. Mary Lynne asked for feedback on the new dossier preparation guidelines that were introduced at the college's faculty meeting. Faculty like the electronic submission process and the clarity of the table templates. All reports were favorable.
- 4. Nomination of officers for 2011-2012 Faculty Council: Members of the Faculty Council for 2010-2011 Academic Year are: CSLG – Peggy Ceballos and Laura Veach EDLD – Jae Hoon Kim and Lisa Merriweather SPCD – Pamela Shue and Ya-yu Lo MDSK – Heather Coffey and Lan Kolano REEL – Drew Polly and Paola Pilonieta

Council Chair – Laura Veach was elected Vice Chair – Ya-yu Lo was elected Secretary – Lisa Merriweather was elected (It was later determined that Laura Veach would be Council Chair and Ya-yu Lo as Vice Chair)

5. Other Business

There was no further business.

## 6. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 10:10 AM.

Next Faculty Council Meeting: FALL 2011 DATE TBA