Minutes

College of Education Faculty/Staff Meeting Friday, October 19, 2012 9:00 am-10:50 am Goudes Lecture Hall COED 010

Attendees: Lyndon Abrams, Leigh Ausband, Lonnie Bateman, Joyce Brigman, Diane Browder, Jamie Brown, Bettie Ray Butler, Mary Lynne Calhoun, Gloria Campbell-Whatley, Peggy Ceballos, Marvin Chapman, Ed Conway, Nancy Cook, Rosslyn Crandell, Diana Dagenhart, Mark D'Amico, Warren DiBiase, Myra Dietz, Sandra Dika, Meredith DiPietro, Lisa Driscoll, Mitch Eisner, Tarra Ellis, Pam Erickson, Claudia Flowers, Lindsay Flynn, Joyce Frazier, Susan Furr, Crystal Glover, Kathie Goldman, Amy Good, Dawson Hancock, Stephen Hancock, Susan Harden, Hank Harris, Laura Hart, Jennifer Hathaway, Misty Hathcock, Jan Hinson, Charles Hutchison, Vicki Jaus, Kia Jones, Sarah Jordan, Do-Hong Kim, Scott Kissau, Brian Kissel, Lan Quach Kolano, Rich Lambert, Susan Lamorey, Pam Lassiter, Chance Lewis, Jae Lim, Kathy Lloyd, Ya-yu Lo, Alan Mabe, Victor Mack, Amanda Macon, Michael Matthews, Melinda McCabe, Brenda McMahon, Adriana Medina, Lisa Merriweather, Bonnie Morton, Maryann Mraz, Deana Murphy, Kok-Mun Ng, Christopher O'Brien, Lisa Patterson, Teresa Petty, John Piel, Drew Polly, Kate Popejoy, Phyllis Post, S. Michael Putman, Susan Rebich, Bob Rickelman, Tracy Rock, Tim Rogers, Spencer Salas, Dan Saurino, Lee Sherry, Rebecca Shore, Pamela Shue, JaneDiane Smith, Fred Spooner, Melba Spooner, Tehia Starker, Cynthia Stasiewski, Bruce Taylor, David Test, Bruce VanSledright, Laura Veach, Jean Vintinner, Shawnee Wakeman, Chuang Wang, Jim Watson, Ed Wierzalis, Greg Wiggan, Carly Wike, Patricia Wilkins, Charles Wood, Karen Wood, Wendy Wood.

1. Call to Order

- ❖ Approval of Minutes, September 14, 2012 Dr. Brenda McMahon made the motion that the minutes be approved. Dr. Bob Rickelman seconded the motion. Minutes were approved by common consent.
- Reminder: check in roster at back of lecture hall The Dean reminded everyone to sign the roster
- 2. Search for the Dean of the College of Education Provost Joan Lorden Provost Lorden addressed faculty and staff and provided information on the search for a new Dean for the college. Owen Furuseth will chair the search committee. Committee members are; Dawson Hancock, Lyndon Abrams, Diane Browder, Tracy Rock, Chance Lewis, Dean Nancy Gutierrez, Alumnus Bill Anderson, and CMS Regional Superintendent Charity Bell. Leslie Zenk will be Dr. Lorden's liaison and Lora Aricco will provide administrative support. The search is in its early stages. Presently a sub-committee is working on selecting a search firm. By early spring a list of candidates will be brought in. The pool will be confidential. There will be many events held where faculty can attend and provide their input. The Provost recommended that you contact people in your field and alert them to the search. You can send a note to Owen or anyone on the committee with your nomination. Telephone and airport interviews will be held. An Interim Dean is not anticipated. Dr. Lorden would be happy to come back and provide further updates as the search progresses. She wants the search open but confidential.
- 3. Giving Green Susan Harden
 Susan provided an update on the Giving Green Campaign which runs through Nov. 1st. Payroll deductions are available or you can make a one-time gift. Contributions are tax deductible. Shannon Hames from The Right Moves for Youth, which is supported by United Way, gave a brief description of the program which empowers students to graduate from high school with a plan for their future success.

- 4. Announcements/introductions
 - The Dean invited everyone to attend the Bank of America Award ceremony tonight at Founders Hall to cheer on Hal Jaus who is one of five finalists being recognized at the ceremony.
 - Educational Leadership Distinguished Lecture Series, October 24 ~ Dawson Hancock Dawson invited faculty and staff to attend the Lecture Series on October 24th featuring Dr. Bill Harrison, Chair of the State Board of Education. It will be held in the Lucas Room at 5pm. Refreshments will be available. Jim Watson coordinated the event which is free to everyone.
 - ❖ NCATE update ~ Melba Spooner Melba informed faculty on the progress of the NCATE work. Laura Hart, who is assisting Melba, may contact you for information. Please respond if you are asked. Everything will need to be uploaded to the website by March 3, 2013.
 - Introductions
 - Lisa Patterson, College of Education Director of Communications
 The Dean introduced Lisa Patterson who is the new Director of Communications, a shared position with CHHS. Her office will be located in CHHS 478B. She will strengthen our messages on campus and in the community.
 - Kathy Lloyd, Office Manager, MDSK ~ Warren DiBiase
 Warren introduced the new office manager in MDSK, Kathy Lloyd who brings to the department a wealth of campus experience.
 - Visiting International Scholars ~ Dawson Hancock and Jae Hoon Lim
 Jae Hoon introduced the new visiting international scholars from Korea.
 - Dr. Jong-Baeg Kim, Hongik University, Korea
 - Dr. Yong-il Kim. Korea Maritime University
- 5. First reading: Proposed revision of Peer Observation of Teaching process ~ *Tracy Rock*Tracy Rock provided the first reading of the proposed revision to the Peer Observation of Teaching process. She reviewed changes that were made from the feedback from Faculty Council, department meetings and the last faculty meeting. Tracy will send out the proposed document via email. It can also be accessed from Moodle in a project folder entitled COED Project Site-projects. A vote to endorse will take place at the November Faculty Meeting.
- 6. (Action Item) Implementation of the recommendations of the Professional Dispositions Task Force ~ Vicki Jaus

Vicki stated that piloting of this work has begun in EDUC 2100 (Susan Harden and Heather Coffey are the instructors) and EDUC 5100 (Charles Hutchison – online instructor). Modifications will take place as needed. TEALR will house a confidential record and there will be an appeals process. Drew Polly, chair of Faculty Council asked for a recommendation to endorse. Mike Putman made the motion to endorse, Mitch Eisner seconded the motion. The motion to endorse the recommendations of the Professional Task Force was approved unanimously.

7. Other business?

There was no further business.

8. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 10:30 a.m.

Next College Meeting: Friday, November 16, 2012