#### **Minutes**

# College of Education Faculty/Staff Meeting Friday, February 24, 2012 9:30 am-10:50 am

## Goudes Lecture Hall COED 010

Attendees: Lyndon Abrams, Kelly Anderson, Leigh Ausband, Joshua Avery, Valerie Balog, Lonnie Bateman, Susan Becknell, Ian Binns, Joyce Brigman, Diane Browder, Bettie Ray Butler, Mary Lynne Calhoun, Peggy Ceballos, Marvin Chapman, Ed Conway, Vivian Correa, Rosslyn Crandell, John Culbreth, Annie Dagons, Mark D'Amico, Liv Dávila, Deanna Deason, Warren DiBiase, Myra Dietz, David Dunaway, Tarra Ellis, Danelle Farley, Joyce Frazier, Sherell Fuller, Susan Furr, Kathie Goldman, Amy Good, Michael Green, Jennifer Hathaway, Tina Heafner, Janice Hinson, Catherine Holman, Charles Hughes, Charles Hutchison, Hal Jaus, Vicki Jaus, Jeanneine Jones, Sarah Jordan, Do-Hong Kim, Scott Kissau, Brian Kissel, Sandraluz Lara-Cinisomo, Chance Lewis, Jae Lim, Ya-yu Lo, Chrislyn Luce, Victor Mack, Amanda Macon, Adriana Medina, Lisa Merriweather, Bonnie Morton, Maryann Mraz, Kok-Mun Ng, Chris O'Brien, Jacqueline Owens, John Piel, Monique Pollock, Kate Popejoy, Phyllis Post, Michael Putman, Susan Rebich, Bob Rickelman, Tracy Rock, Tim Rogers, Spencer Salas, Dan Saurino, Lee Sherry, JaneDiane Smith, Fred Spooner, Melba Spooner, Michelle Stephan, Bruce Taylor, David Test, Laura Veach, Shawnee Wakeman, Jim Watson, Ed Wierzalis, Patricia Wilkins, Charles Wood, Karen Wood.

- 1. Call to Order/Announcements Dean Calhoun called the meeting to order.
  - a. Approval of Minutes, January 13, 2012 Dr. Bob Rickelman made the motion that the minutes be approved. Dr. Kate Popejoy seconded the motion. Minutes were approved by common consent.
  - b. Reminder: check in roster at back of lecture hall Dean Calhoun reminded everyone to sign the roster, if they have not already done so, before exiting the meeting.

#### 2. News of the Community

- The Dean remarked that a gala reception was held at the Center City Building honoring Claudia Flowers as the 2012 recipient of the Harshini V. de Silva Mentoring Award. Pictures of the event are on the bulletin board outside of the Dean's Office.
- Congratulations to Dr. Victor Mack who successfully defended his dissertation on Wednesday.
- Susan Becknell was honored for her 7 years in the TEALR department as she will be retiring effective February 29<sup>th</sup>. We will miss her.
- Amanda introduced and welcomed the two new Teacher Support Program Coaches, Beth Salyers and Adam Meyers. They will provide support to 1<sup>st</sup> year teachers in low performing schools. We are excited about this new program funded by Race to the Top money through the UNC General Administration.
- Amanda introduced Danelle Farley, who has joined the TEALR office as their office manager.

## 3. College of Education Faculty Council Report

Laura Veach, Chair of the College of Education Faculty Council, provided a first reading of a proposed change in the Council By-laws. The new proposed language reads; *The Dean and the College Representative to the University Faculty Executive Committee shall be ex officio non-voting members of the Faculty Council*. Dr. Veach asked that you consider this proposal. A vote will take place at the next college meeting.

- 4. First reading: College of Education's Criteria and Procedures Used at Department and College Levels to Conduct Reappointment, Promotion, and Tenure Reviews

  Dean Calhoun provided an overview of the new draft for consideration. Jeanneine Jones and Bruce Taylor reviewed a summary of the major changes made to the document (see attached PowerPoint for details). A chart containing clinical promotions at other universities was also part of the presentation. The draft document and the PowerPoint will be posted on Moodle by Monday morning. Also posted will be the question slides with answers. Melba Spooner reviewed the requirements for teaching under Full Professor. A brief open discussion followed. Bob Rickelman stated and the Dean agreed that the DRC and the CRC will need training workshops for the clinical review process. The next steps in the process are:
  - Draft posted on Moodle
  - Bruce and Jeanneine are available for department meetings by request.
  - Consultation vote by clinical faculty
  - Review for action at March meeting
  - Electronic ballot

# 5. Update on online evaluations

Due to time constraints, Melba Spooner will send out an update by email on the online evaluation process.

## 6. QEP update/ College of Education response

Dean John Smail, University College, reviewed the campus-wide work process of the Quality Enhancement Plan, which is a SACS requirement for reaccreditation. The SACS visit will take place in March 2013, at which time this plan will be in place. The plan's focus is on engagement of our freshman students so that they may take a more active partnership in their education. The three outcomes will be commitment to success, inquiry and learning, and intercultural knowledge or awareness. Required elements of the curriculum will include advising and participation in activities.

Vicki Jaus presented on the college's proposal which includes a one hour learning lab, a revised curriculum for EDUC 2100 and SPED 2100 and advising by TEALR.

John stated that the process continues with the faculty development structure, coordinating with

support units such as the library, the writing of the document by the end of the semester, document will be sent to an external reviewer, and faculty feedback.

# 7. Invitation: Unveiling of panels from Levine Museum of the New South Tina Heafner invited faculty and staff to attend the unveiling of panels immediately following this

meeting. These panels were donated by the Levine Museum. There will be a brief ceremony on the history that the panels represent and refreshments to follow. Dr. Tom Hanchett, the Museum's historian, was a guest at the College meeting.

## 8. Other business:

Sherell Fuller announced that Freedom School planning is underway. Contact her for clinical opportunities this summer (second summer session).

9. Meeting adjourned at 10:50 a.m.