Minutes

College of Education Faculty/Staff Meeting Friday, August 17, 2012 9:30 a.m. – 10:50 a.m. Goudes Lecture Hall

Attendees: Lyndon Abrams, Lynn Ahlgrim-Delzell, Kelly Anderson, Mary Jo Anderson, Lonnie Bateman, Janet Baxter, Ian Binns, James Bird, Joyce Brigman, Diane Browder, Jamie Brown, Bettie Ray Butler, Mary Lynne Calhoun, Peggy Ceballos, Marvin Chapman, Vikki Cherwon, Heather Coffey, Ed Conway, Vivian Correa, John Culbreth, Diana Dagenhart, Mark D'Amico, Warren DiBiase, Sandra Dika, Meredith DiPietro, Lisa Driscoll, David Dunaway, Mitch Eisner, Tarra Ellis, Kathy Fallin, Paul Fitchett, Claudia Flowers, Lindsay Flynn, Joyce Frazier, Sherell Fuller, Susan Furr, Crystal Glover, Kathie Goldman, Amy Good, Dawson Hancock, Stephen Hancock, Susan Harden, Hank Harris, Jennifer Hathaway, Misty Hathcock, Tina Heafner, Janice Hinson, Charles Hughes, Charles Hutchison, Vicki Jaus, Jeanneine Jones, Scott Kissau, Brian Kissel, Lan Quach Kolano, Richard Lambert, Susan Lamorey, Pamela Lassiter, Angela Lee, Delores Lee, Chance Lewis, Jae Lim, Ya-yu Lo, Chrislyn Luce, James Lyons, Alan Mabe, Victor Mack, Michael Matthews, Melinda McCabe, Brenda McMahon, Adriana Medina, Lisa Merriweather, Maryann Mraz, Deana Murphy, Kok-Mun Ng, Christopher O'Brien, Amy Palmer, Alayna Parker, Terri Pennell, Teresa Petty, Paola Pilonieta, Michelle Polidura, Monique Pollock, Andrew Polly, Kate Popejoy, Phyllis Post, Mike Putman, Shagufta Raja, Susan Rebich, Bob Rickelman, Tracy Rock, Dan Saurino, Lee Sherry, Pamela Shue, JaneDiane Smith, Fred Spooner, Melba Spooner, Tehia Starker, Cynthia Stasiewski, Bruce Taylor, David Test, Bruce VanSledright, Laura Veach, Jean Vintinner, Shawnee Wakeman, Jim Watson, Patricia Wilkins, Charles Wood, Karen Wood.

1. Call to Order – Dean Calhoun called the meeting to order.

- ❖ Approval of minutes 4-20-12 − Dr. Bob Rickelman made the motion that the minutes be approved. Dr. Ian Binns seconded the motion. Minutes were approved by common consent.
- ❖ Circulation of roster The Dean reminded everyone to sign the roster.
- * Review of handouts

2. News from our community: Recognitions, transitions, celebrations

- The Dean expressed condolences on the passing of Dr. Bill Britt, Professor Emeritus.
- The Dean expressed condolences to Leigh Ausband, Jennifer Hathaway and John Beattie on the passing of their family members.
- Bob Audette and John Beattie are on medical leave this semester.
- Congratulations to Do-Hong Kim, Valerie Balog, Bethany Myers and Clarrice Rapisarda on the birth of their babies. And to new grandmas, Terri Pennell and Leigh Ausband.
- Tehia Starker is engaged.
- Hal Jaus and Theresa Perez have retired and Corey Lock began phased retirement. Joyce Green, SPCD office manager also retired.
- Liv Dávila, Clarrice Rapisarda, Adam Harbaugh and Sandraluz Lara-Cinisomo have resigned.
- Vicki Jaus, Joyce Frazier, Bob Algozzine and Nancy Cooke celebrated 25 years of service to UNC Charlotte.
- Congratulations to Dr. Amy Good on receiving permanent tenure at the rank of Associate Professor.
- Dr. Jim Bird, Dr. Mickey Dunaway, Dr. Do-Hong Kim, Dr. Scott Kissau, Dr. Brian Kissel, Dr. Jae Hoon Lim, Dr. Chris O'Brien, Dr. Drew Polly, and Dr. Greg Wiggan were promoted to Associate Professor.
- The following were reappointed as Assistant Professors: Dr. Heather Coffey, Dr. Jennifer Hathaway, Dr. Lisa Merriweather and Dr. Mark D'Amico.
- Congratulations to the Department of Counseling on their accreditation extending to the year 2017.

3. Announcements

➤ Important academic dates and deadlines – *Melba Spooner*Dr. Melba Spooner reviewed critical dates and information concerning graduation deadlines, grade of incomplete, syllabus design, midterm unsatisfactory grades, payment and cancellation policy and the





resolution on chronic lateness in grade reporting. She also stressed the importance of checking your class roster and special attention to the census date which is 8/31. She stated that the electronic course evaluations are continuing and new this semester is the electronic process for undergraduate petitions.

- > COED Faculty Handbook is updated
 - The Dean reviewed the updated faculty resource page and the Faculty Handbook which are both on the college website. The handbook is now 100% online, no paper copies. It will be updated on a daily basis when changes occur.
- Faculty International Travel Grants for 2012-2013
 There will be a total of \$10,000 in international travel grants this year. Proposals up to \$1500 each will be processed as they occur. Information on the process will be sent out shortly.
- ➤ Common Core workshop for higher education faculty, Sept. 21, 2012
 Warren DiBiase has arranged for this all day workshop to be held on 9/21 in COED 110. Please contact Kim Hartmann if you are interested in attending.
- ➤ 49er Democracy Experience: Opportunities for students
 A number of events related to the DNC will be held on campus and at the Center City Building.
 Registration is required.
- ➤ New Minor in Urban Youth and Communities

 New to the curriculum this fall is the new minor in urban youth and communities service learning in urban schools for future teachers.

4. Welcome to new colleagues!

Staff

Cynthia Stasiewski, Office Manager, SPCD – introduced by Lee Sherry Kim Hartmann, Administrative Assistant, MDSK – introduced by Warren DiBiase

Grant Personnel

Kathy Fallin, Project Coordinator, Center on Secondary Education for Students with Autism Spectrum Disorders Introduced by Diane Browder

Dr. Ayana Allen, Post-Doctoral Fellow, The Urban Education Collaborative – introduced by Chance Lewis

Center for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Education

Shagufta Raja, Pre-College Coordinator - introduced by Victor Mack

Middle, Secondary, and K12 Education

Dr. Susan Harden, Assistant Professor, Urban Education - introduced by Warren DiBiase

5. Induction into the College of Education – Mary Lynne, Melba and Drew Polly Pinning ceremony for new colleagues, with assistance of mentors and chairs.

6. College of Education, Our Shared Agenda 2012-2013 "The Romance of the Rails"

Dean Calhoun spoke about the agenda for the coming year. She announced that she will retire, effective June 30, 2013, her 14th year as Dean of the college. Provost Joan Lorden is forming a search committee and will attend a faculty meeting in the fall to discuss the search, which will be open to internal and external candidates. Dean Calhoun continued by stating that the year ahead will be a busy one with NCATE preparation, SACS work, revision of the Peer Observation process, promotion for clinical faculty, implementing the professional dispositions and the QEP pilot. Some good news is that we will have raises this year for the first time in 4 years. SPA staff has received 1.2%. Guidance is coming for faculty likely in the 9/30 paycheck retro to July 1 and the

SPA staff has received 1.2%. Guidance is coming for faculty likely in the 9/30 paycheck retro to July 1 and the addition of a possible small additional sum to begin to address issues of salary compression. We have been authorized to conduct 5 tenure-eligible faculty searches this year. We have been given the honor of selecting a Lecturer for the TIAA-CREF Distinguished Lecture Series. Strong partnership efforts are underway with Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools. And lastly, the Cato Mural construction will soon begin, with an unveiling and dedication event to occur this semester.

7. Other business?

Misty Hathcock announced that the Back to School Celebration will be on Thursday, August 30th in McKnight Auditorium, Chance Lewis will be the key note speaker.

8. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 11:07 a.m.

Next College Meeting:

Friday, September 14, 2012 9:30 a.m. – 10:50 a.m. Introduction of COED Scholars Discussion of the revision of Peer Observation of Teaching Process