Minutes

College of Education Faculty/Staff Meeting Friday, September 14, 2012 9:30 am-10:50 am Goudes Lecture Hall COED 010

Attendees: Lyndon Abrams, Lynn Ahlgrim-Delzell, Kelly Anderson, Mary Jo Anderson, Leigh Ausband, Joshua Avery, Lonnie Bateman, Janet Baxter, Bertie Billups, Ian Binns, Joyce Brigman, Jamie Brown, Bettie Ray Butler, Mary Lynne Calhoun, Gloria Campbell-Whatley, Peggy Ceballos, Marvin Chapman, Ed Conway, Rosslyn Crandell, Micki Crowder, John Culbreth, Mark D'Amico, Warren DiBiase, Myra Dietz, Mitch Eisner, Dee Ellington, Pam Erickson, Paul Fitchett, Lindsay Flynn, Joyce Frazier, Crystal Glover, Kathie Goldman, Amy Good, Dawson Hancock, Hank Harris, Laura Hart, Jennifer Hathaway, Misty Hathcock, Tina Heafner, Cynthia Hopper, Charles Hughes, Charles Hutchison, Vicki Jaus, Sarah Jordan, Brian Kissel, Lan Quach Kolano, Susan Lamorey, Delores Lee, Chance Lewis, Jae Lim, Ya-yu Lo, Chrislyn Luce, Alan Mabe, Victor Mack, Amanda Macon, Michael Matthews, Melinda McCabe, Brenda McMahon, Adriana Medina, Lisa Merriweather, Bonnie Morton, Deana Murphy, Lisa Newman, Kok-Mun Ng, Sam Nixon, Christopher O'Brien, Terri Pennell, Teresa Petty, Paola Pilonieta, Alice Poplin, S. Michael Putman, Susan Rebich, Bob Rickelman, Tracy Rock, Tim Rogers, Dan Saurino, Rebecca Shore, Melba Spooner, Tehia Starker, Bruce Taylor, Bruce VanSledright, Laura Veach, Jean Vintinner, Shawnee Wakeman, Jim Watson, Ed Wierzalis, Greg Wiggan, Patricia Wilkins, Charles Wood, Wendy Wood.

- 1. Call to Order/Announcements
 - Approval of Minutes, August 17, 2012 Dr. Mitch Eisner made the motion that the minutes be approved. Dr. Bob Rickelman seconded the motion. Minutes were approved by common consent.
 - b. Reminder: check in roster at back of lecture hall The Dean reminded everyone to sign the roster.
 - c. Reappointment/ promotion orientation for Clinical Faculty: Sept.28; Oct. 2 The Dean announced two dates for the clinical orientation. Both dates will have the same content. All are welcome, with a special invitation to those serving on review committees.
 - d. Dr. Heath Morrison, EDLD Distinguished Speaker Series, Oct. 24, 6:00 p.m. Dr. Heath Morrison has had a conflict with this date and it will be rescheduled.
 - e. Update on salary improvement The Dean announced that the raise will be in the 9/30 paycheck and will be retroactive to July 1.
- Recognition of Alice Poplin on the occasion of her retirement *Melba Spooner* Melba honored Alice Poplin who will retire on October 1. She was presented with the state retirement certificate and an engraved vase from the college.
- 3. Recognition of new scholars in the College of Education
 - a. Introduction of Principal Fellows ~ Delores Lee
 Delores Lee introduced the 19th cohort of Principal Fellows; Crystal Lail, Megan Lefevers, Laura
 Ruble, Mary Scavo, Megan Smith, Alyn Wharmby and Nicholas Wortman.
 - Introduction of Honors in Education students ~ Paul Fitchett
 Paul Fitchett introduced this year's students; Jessica Norwood, Tiffany Pacheco, Danielle Martin, Darleen Ames.
 - c. Introduction of 2012 Levine Scholars who are majoring in education ~ Sam Nixon Sam Nixon, who serves as their advisor, introduced this year's Levine Scholars who are education majors; Annika Swanson and Katie Waldroup who was not present. Both are special education majors.

- Introductions from the TEALR office Amanda Macon Amanda introduced the new members of the TEALR office. They were presented with college pins.
 - New Teacher Support Coaches
 - Dr. Sequoya Mungo
 - o Ms. Carrie Rocha
 - Ms. Megon Mancini
 - Ms. Jina Meadows
 - Teacher Recruiter
 - Ms. Bethany Myers
 - Academic Advisors
 - o Ms. Kia Jones
 - o Ms. Carly Wike
 - Office Assistant
 - o Jeremy Lanier
- 5. First 3 Misty Hathcock

Misty announced that the program, which has doubled in size to 80 pre-service teachers, is looking for presenters for professional development. Let Misty know if you are interested.

Bruce Taylor stated that they are looking for non-education majors who are interested in helping at the Governors Village Schools.

Currently they are serving 100 beginning teachers in high needs schools. Misty invited everyone to become part of the program.

- 6. College work session: Proposed revision of the Peer Observation of Teaching Process *Tracy Rock* Tracy introduced the committee who have been working on the revision; Bob Rickelman, Tina Heafner, Shawnee Wakeman, Lindsay Flynn, and Melinda McCabe. She reviewed most of the revisions which are more meaningful and have more accountability. The process will include part time faculty. It is required for new and optional for existing p/t faculty. She invited everyone to read through the draft document previously sent out by email and then comment on Moodle on the Peer Observation Discussion Forum. Next steps are: Reading of the final plan at the October meeting and a vote at the November meeting. Training during Spring 2013 and implementation in the Fall 2013. Questions and comments can be directed to any of the committee members.
- 7. Exciting update Cato Teaching Discovery Mural *Tim Rogers and Mary Lynne Calhoun* Tim provided an update on the Cato Teaching Mural. To view the film that was shown, here is the link: <u>http://youtu.be/BuiQ52xbszg</u>. A public launch will take place in late October/early November with a dedication of the mural. He asked that you consider making a gift honoring a teacher. Fifty-two educators have been honored so far with a goal of 100. The money will create an unrestricted endowment. This year the money will be used for the Diversity Award. Additional information can be found on the Looking Forward website: <u>www.lookingforward.uncc.edu</u>.
- 8. Other business?
 - a. NCATE reminder The Dean reminded everyone to please keep helping when you are called on and thanked everyone for all that they are doing.

9. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 11:05 a.m.

Next College Meeting: Friday, October 19, 2012 Update on Professional Dispositions First reading: Revised Peer Observation of Teaching process