Minutes College of Education Faculty/Staff Meeting Friday, February 1, 2008 9:30 – 11:00 a.m. Nicholas T. Goudes Lecture Hall (COED 010)

Attendees: Lyndon Abrams, Robert Algozzine, Karen Algozzine, Leigh Ausband, Lynne Bailey, Valerie Balog, Janet Baxter, John Beattie, James Bird, Diane Browder, Karen Bunn, Mary Lynne Calhoun, Marvin Chapman, Leslie Cook, Nancy Cooke, Misty Cowan-Hathcock, Rosslyn Crandell, John Culbreth, Warren diBiase, Myra Dietz, Claudia Flowers, Joyce Frazier, Sherell Fuller, Susan Furr, Crystal Glover, John Gretes, Dawson Hancock, Stephen Hancock, Adam Harbaugh, Laura Hart, Cynthia Hopper, Charles Hughes, Charles Hutchison, LuAnn Jordan, Tameka Kea, Do-Hong Kim, Jen King, Scott Kissau, Pam Lassiter, Delores Lee, Jae Hoon Lim, Corey Lock, Chrislyn Luce, Amanda Macon, Victor Mack, Candace Meyer, Adriana Medina, Peggy Moore, Kok-Mun Ng, Dee Nichols, Jacqueline Owens, Jeff Passe, Theresa Perez, Teresa Petty, Paola Pilonieta, Andrew Polly, David Pugalee, Sarah Ramsey, Clarrice Rapisarda, Robert Rickelman, Brenda Romanoff, Spencer Salas, Lee Sherry, Frederick Spooner, Melba Spooner, David Test, Rosemary Traore, Chuang Wang, Jim Watson, Richard White, Ed Wierzalis.

- 1. Call to Order Dr. Calhoun called the meeting to order.
 - a. Approval of Minutes, 1-11-08 –Dr. Algozzine made the motion that the minutes be approved. Dr. Hancock seconded the motion and the minutes were approved by common consent.
 - b. Circulation of roster Dr. Calhoun circulated the roster.
- 2. News of the community
 - Congratulations to M.Ed. in Instructional Systems Technology, and Dr. Gretes and Hartshorne, on the national recognition of the program.
 - Congratulations to Mu Tau Beta, "Chapter of the Year," Chi Sigma Iota International Counseling Honor Society. They have won this award 5 times. Current advisors are Lyndon Abrams and Jack Culbreth.
 - Congratulations to Spencer Salas on his marriage this week.
 - Congratulations to Ya yu Lo on her Early Career Award from the Division of Research of the Council of Exceptional Children.
 - Welcome, Amanda Kennedy Macon! Misty Hathcock introduced Amanda who has taken the position of Teacher Education Recruiter/Advisor for the College of Education. Amanda will also be the person who will answer inquiries from the marketing ads.
- 3. Announcements
 - Team Teach applications Amanda Macon discussed the search for students for Team Teach and urged faculty to advertise in their classes.
 - Faculty International Travel Grants still available Only two have been awarded.
 - Beginning Teacher Dinners forms due today Seven hosts have been identified for the Beginning Teacher Dinners scheduled for the week of March 9. These dinners will be covered in the next *Extracurricular*.
 - "Pursuing the Dream" February 15 Victor Mack has 162 registered for this conference. He still needs facilitators for the day. The hours are 8:30 a.m. 2 p.m.
- 4. Report of the College of Education Faculty Council Jeff Passe gave a report from the Council and encouraged faculty to elect faculty who will represent them and discuss issues with faculty council representatives.
- 5. Overview New Program Approval Processes NC Department of Public Instruction Dr. Calhoun reviewed the New Program Approval Process approved by the NC State Board of Education in January 2008 and discussed some of the important revisions in programs and processes that we will need to address in the coming months. A timeline was included in the information, dating from December 2007 until Summer of 2013. Faculty members who were unable to attend the meeting may request a copy of the

handout from Phyllis Griffin.

6. Briefing: Business Continuity Planning for the College of Education - Dane Hughes presented the Business Continuity Planning for the College of Education; copy of the presentation is attached. He also gave the web sites where it could be found.

Faculty are encouraged to share this presentation with their part-time faculty mentees.

7. Other business – There being no further business the meeting was adjourned.

Next meeting: 3-14-08 Elections Special guests: Dean of Students Michelle Howard and Director of Counseling Center David Spano