Minutes College of Education Faculty/Staff Meeting Friday, March 14, 2008 9:30 AM – 10:50 AM Nicholas T. Goudes Lecture Hall (COED 010)

Attendees: Robert Algozzine, Karen Algozzine, Kelly Anderson, Joshua Avery, John Beattie, James Bird, Mary Lynne Calhoun, Gloria Campbell-Whatley, Deborah Ceglowski, Marvin Chapman, Leslie Cook, Misty Cowan-Hathcock, Rosslyn Crandell, Warren DiBiase, Barbara Edwards, Joyce Frazier, Susan Furr, Dawson Hancock, Stephen Hancock, Adam Harbaugh, Cynthia Hopper, Charles Hutchison, Vicki Jaus, LuAnn Jordan, Bonnie Keilty, Do-Hong Kim, Scott Kissau, Brian Kissel, Suzanne Lamorey, Pam Lassiter, Delores Lee, Jae Hoon Lim, Ya-yu Lo, Chrislyn Luce, Amanda Macon, victor Mack, Adriana Medina, Andrea Moshier, Maryann Mraz, Kok-Mun Ng, Samuel Nixon, Christopher O'Brien, Jeffrey Passe, Theresa Perez, Teresa Petty, Paola Pilonieta, Andrew Polly, Katherine Popejoy, Lan Quach, Sarah Ramsey, Clarrice Rapisarda, Robert Rickelman, Tracy Rock, Brenda Romanoff, Spencer Salas, Lee Sherry, JaneDiane Smith, Jo Ann Springs, David Test, Chuang Wang, Jim Watson, Richard white, Edward Wierzalis, Charles Wood, Maria Yon, Karen Bunn, Jennifer King, Alice Poplin, Lisa Newman.

- 1. Call to Order Dr. Calhoun called the meeting to order.
 - a. Approval of Minutes *Dr. Calhoun* called for approval of the minutes of February 1. *Dr. Jeff Passe* made the motion that the minutes be approved. *Dr. Bob Rickelman* seconded the motion. The minutes were approved by common consent.
 - b. Circulation of roster Dr. Calhoun circulated the attendance roster
- 2. Faculty Annual Report (due electronically to department chairs, 4-15-08): overview of changes. *Dr. Calhoun* went over the Faculty Annual Report and noted changes on how Service to Schools is to be reported and additions related to participation in the Assessment System.
- 3. Faculty Governance Dr. Jeff Passe reviewed the handout listing Committees and Committee functions and called for nominations. The following nominations were received: Faculty Executive Committee (2 year term: 2008-10) Nominees were Ann McColl (EDLD) and Warren DiBiase (MDSK). Faculty Advisory Library Committee (2 year term 2008-10) Nominees were Spencer Salas (MDSK), Christopher O'Brien (SPCD), and Adriana Medina (REEL). Faculty Advisory Summer Sessions Committee (2 year term: 2008-10) Nominees were Lynne Bailey (MDSK) and Valerie Balog (CSLG). Faculty CID/API Grants Committee (2 year term: 2008-10) Nominees were Richard Hartshorne (EDLD) and Scott Kissau (MDSK). Faculty Competitive Grants Committee (2 year term: 2008-10) Nominees were Clarrice Rapisarda (CSLG), Richard White (SPCD), and Chuang Wang (EDLD). Undergraduate Course and Curriculum Committee (2 year term: 2008-10) Nominees were Deborah Ceglowski (SPCD), John Beattie (SPCD), and Andrew Polly (REEL). Faculty Committee on General Education (2 year term 2008-10) Nominees were Sarah Ramsey (REEL), Vicki Jaus (OFE), and Paula Pilonieta (REEL).

Ballots will be distributed electronically next week. The top vote getter in each category will be the representative, with the second highest vote getter serving as alternate.

- 4. Special Presentation: Helpful Hints and Resources for Working with Disruptive Students After being introduced and welcomed by *Dr. Calhoun, Michele Howard*, Dean of Students, and *David Spano*, Director, Counseling Center gave a presentation of their respective offices and office functions with respect to working with disruptive students. They each took questions from attendees.
- 5. Other business? *Dr. Calhoun* called for any other business. There was none.
- 6. Adjournment. The meeting was adjourned by Dr. Calhoun at 11:00 AM

Next Meeting: April 11

