Minutes

College of Education Faculty/Staff Meeting Friday, April 11, 2008 9:30 AM – 10:50 AM

Nicholas T. Goudes Lecture Hall (COED 010)

Attendees: Lyndon Abrams, Bob Audette, Joshua Avery, Lynne Bailey, Bob Barret, Louise Baucom, John Beattie, Diane Browder, Karen Bunn, Mary Lynne Calhoun, Deborah Ceglowski, Marvin Chapman, Nancy Cooke, Misty Cowan-Hathcock, Micki Crowder, John Culbreth, Myra Dietz, Barbara Edwards, Susan Furr, Crystal Glover, Kathie Goldman, Michael Green, Dawson Hancock, Henry Harris, Richard Hartshorne, Charles Hutchison, Hal Jaus, Tameka Kea, Bonnie Keilty, Do-Hong Kim, Jen King, Scott Kissau, Brian Kissel, Jae Hoon Lim, Ya-yu Lo, Amanda Macon, Victor Mack, Adriana Medina, Peggy Moore, Andrea Moshier, Maryann Mraz, Kok-Mun Ng, Dee Nichols, Samuel Nixon, Christopher O'Brien, Jack Piel, Paola Pilonieta, Katherine Popejoy, Lan Quach, Clarrice Rapisarda, Robert Rickelman, Brenda Romanoff, Spencer Salas, Emily Stephenson-Green, David Test, Chuang Wang, Richard White, Greg Wiggan, Charles Wood, Karen Wood, Maria Yon.

- 1. Call to Order Dr. Calhoun called the meeting to order.
 - Circulations of roster The roster was circulated
 - Approval of minutes, 3-14-08 Myra Dietz made the motion that the minutes be approved, Dr. Rickelman seconded the motion and the minutes were approved by common consent.

2. News of the community

- Dr. Calhoun recognized the faculty that have resigned and wished them well: Drs. Dee Nichols, Grace Mitchell, Leslie Cook and Phil Ice.
- Dr. Louise Baucom has resigned as the Elementary Ed. Coordinator
- Dr. Susan Furr has resigned as the Faculty coordinator/Teacher Education Learning Community and Sherell Fuller will assume this responsibility.
- Dr, Fred Spooner has won the award of the Outstanding Alumnus from the College of Education at the University of Florida
- Ya yu Lo has won the Early Career Research Award from the International Council for Exceptional Children
- The Department of Counseling has won the IAAOC Program of the Year Award (International Association of Addictions and Offender Counselors)
- Rosemary Traore has won a Fulbright Scholarship to Mali for the 2008-2009
- Brian Kissel and his wife are expecting twins
- Tina Heafner is expecting her second baby soon
- Dee and Janet Nichols are expecting a baby in August

3. Honoring retiring faculty members

- Ms. Peggy Moore, Lecturer, Department of Special Education and Child Development Dr. Calhoun recognized Ms. Moore for her service and time in the College from 2000, with a gift and certificate from the University.
- Dr. Bob Barret, Professor, Department of Counseling Dr. Calhoun recognized Dr. Barret for his service since 1979 with a gift and certificate from the University.

4. Updates/Opportunities

- New job description Academic Department Chair Dr. Calhoun presented the job description for Chairs which was approved by the Provost on March 18, 2008.
- College of Education Student Honors & Awards Celebration Sunday, April 13, 2008: 2 p.m. 3:30 p.m., Goudes Lecture Hall –The faculty was reminded of this event and encouraged to attend.
- Musical Theatre: "Urinetown: The Musical" April 18 There are some free tickets available for this event, if interested contact Linda Breen. There will be a wine and cheese reception at 7:15 before the play.
- College of Education Alumni Reunion Day Saturday, May 3, 2008 There will be a brief program and Dr. Bob Barret will be the speaker, then a lunch at the Harris Alumni Center.
- Commencement: May 10, 2008, 10 a.m. with reception to follow.
- Faculty Research Seminar: May 12-14 Dr. Diane Browder, Dr. Rich Lambert, and Dr. Deb Ceglowski will be conducting this Seminar and it is open to new faculty.
- 14th German-American Faculty Symposium, Charlotte, May 19-22, 2008 Dr. Calhoun is working on a draft



5. Report of the College of Education Faculty Council - Michael Green

Update: Part-time faculty in the College of Education - Dr. Green thanked his committee for the help in the survey of part-time faculty, mentors, and chairs. He and the committee will complete a written report on the study by the end of June.

Dr. Green reminded the faculty of the guidelines for mentors of part-time faculty that can be found in the "pink section" of the College of Education Faculty Handbook. He reviewed those guidelines and encouraged course mentors to make use of them.

5. Celebrations!

Faculty Awards

- ❖ 2008 Teaching Fellows Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching *Presented by Misty Hathcock and Senior Teaching Fellow, Courtney Riley*
 - Dr. Hathcock advised that nominations for this award can include faculty from Arts and Sciences. This award was given to Dr. Bob Audette
- ❖ 2008 Mary Thomas Burke/Stephanie Rauch Faculty Fellowship Presented by Susan Furr This award was given to Dr. Pam Lassiter who could not attend the meeting because she is presenting at the Child and Family Development Conference. This award is for \$1,000.
- ❖ 2008 Bank of America Fellowships in Early Reading Research *Presented by Bob Rickelman* Dr. Rickelman presented 3 awards: Drs. Adriana Medina, Chris O'Brien, and the team of Paula Pilonieta and Stephen Hancock. These Fellowships are for \$10,000 each.
- ❖ Faculty Award for Sustained Service to Public Schools *Presented by Victor Mack*This award is sponsored by Grays Book store for \$1,000 and was presented to Dr. Michael Green
- ❖ 2008 College of Education Award for Excellence in Research *Presented by Diane Browder*This award is sponsored by Grays Book store for \$1,000. Dr. Browder announced a tie and presented this award to Drs. Deb Ceglowski and Do-Hong Kim for \$500 each.
- ❖ 2008 College of Education Award for Excellence in Teaching *Presented by Hal Jaus* Dr. Jaus presented this award to Dr. Maria Yon.
- 6. Other business? None
- 7. Adjournment The meeting was adjourned at 10:40 a.m.