

College of Education Faculty/Staff Meeting Friday, October 14, 2016 9:30a.m. – 11:00a.m. Goudes Lecture Hall ~ COED 010

Attendees: Lyndon Abrams, Liz Adkisson, Lynn Ahlgrim-Delzell, Bill Anderson, Mary Jo Anderson, Kevin Bailey, Lonnie Bateman, Ian Binns, James Bird, Diane Browder, Bettie Ray Butler, Erik Byker, Gloria Campbell-Whatley, Anne Cash, Marvin Chapman, Wills Citty, Belva Collins, Ed Conway, Rosslyn Crandell, Karen Cross, Hilary Dack, Mark D'Amico, Debra Diegmann, Sandra Dika, Mitch Eisner, Dee Ellington, Tom Fisher, Paul Fitchett, Claudia Flowers, Denise Fluellen, Joyce Frazier, Susan Furr, Cindy Gilson, Kathie Goldman, Dawson Hancock, Hank Harris, Laura Hart, Misty Hathcock, Brandi Hinson, Regina Johnson, Kia Jones, LuAnn Jordan, Elonda Kinloch, Scott Kissau, Brian Kissel, Kate Lamberson, Chance Lewis, Jae Hoon Lim, Chrislyn Luce, Rex Mangiaracina, Florence Martin, Michael Matthews, Clare Merlin, Lisa Merriweather, Erica Moody, Debra Morris, Christopher O'Brien, Kristie Opiola, Barbara Parrish, Kevin Parsons, Teresa Petty, Zoi Philippakos, David Pugalee, Mike Putman, Tesh Ramey, Luke Reinke, Bob Rickelman, Tracy Rock, Ayesha Sadaf, Spencer Salas, Brad Smith, Jessi Smith, Fred Spooner, Michelle Stephan, Andrea Strong, Shawnee Wakeman, Chuang Wang, Jim Watson, Greg Wiggan, Patricia Wilkins, Charles Wood.

1. Call to Order

❖ Approval of Minutes, 9-23-16 − Dr. Jim Bird made the motion to approve the minutes. Dr. Brian Kissel seconded the motion. Minutes were approved by common consent.

2. Announcements

➤ Student Teacher of the Year Gabrielle Lowder ~ Joyce Frazier Joyce presented a plaque to the Student Teacher of the Year, Gabrielle Lowder. University Supervisors nominated candidates. There were thirteen candidates this year.

> Introductions:

Kevin Bailey, TEAL Advisor ~ Brad Smith introduced Kevin who will advise preeducation students letter I through S.

Regina Johnson, REEL Admin Support ~ Mike Putman introduced Regina who will provide support to the REEL department.

3. Dean's Message

Dawson Hancock provided a message from Ellen who was unable to attend today's meeting. Ellen asked for faculty and staff to engage in the three days of Diversity Workshop activities next week provided by Dr. Eddie Moore. It is important to attend.

On the first Wednesday of each month will be E³: Conversations for Equity, Excellence, and Engagement in Education, a monthly professional development series. Important dates:

- Full Professor Listening Meeting, 10/31, 3:00-4:00, COED 110
- > Cato Naming Event, 11/11, 11:00 a.m.
- ➤ Charrette of Candidate Work, 11/15, 10:00-4:00 Let Laura know if you want to be invited.

Important news:

There will be new initiatives to provide support for our part time faculty. Mentors will be assist in keeping the faculty updated on college updates.

- ➤ Moodle to Canvas: There are multiple workshops being held on Canvas. See Dane if you need assistance.
- > Website Update: Please complete the form that was emailed to you to update your contact

4. Associate Deans Reports

- Dawson Hancock
 - Project Mosaic will provide data analysis workshops.
 - Leslie Brown will provide proposal workshops.
 - Building the Research Agenda workshop will be held on 11/17 & 11/18. Let Dawson know if you want to attend.
 - The next College Research Colloquia will be held on 11/16 in COED 110. Ian Binns and Susan Harden will present.

Teresa Petty

- The teacher prep regulations have now passed. There is more info on the CAEP and NC-ACTE websites.
- Lab School Update We will now be in year 2, August 2018. This is great news. There is a meeting on Monday in Chapel Hill where we will find out more information and bring back at the next college meeting. General Administration has hired a consultant to work on this.
- Teacher Education Institute The date is set for June 27 to 30. The next meeting to share information will be held on Oct 31, 10-11:00 in COED 110.

5. Diversity Committee News ~ Lisa Merriweather

Dr. Eddie Moore will be here next week. Workshop for faculty and staff all day on the 19th. There will be programs open to students and the community. Lisa encouraged everyone to attend the events.

E³ conversation – Starts on Nov. 9. This will be a two-year event. More info about the conversations will be sent out soon.

6. RPT Revision/ Vote Update ~ Mark D'Amico

The vote closed yesterday with 70 yes votes, 8 nos and 2 abstentions. Mark thanked all that voted, to the task force for their work on the revision and to those that provided feedback.

7. Update on Website ~ Wills Citty/Ed Conway

Wills and Ed asked for everyone to complete the form to update the website. Please list expertise in your area so when experts need to be found for a certain topic, they can contact you.

8. Faculty Annual Review Report Template ~ Laura Hart

The document template has been reviewed and aligned with the RPT document. An electronic format will be sent out to faculty next week. Please provide feedback. The committee will make changes based on the feedback and then bring back the final version at the November meeting.

9. Faculty Presentations

• Committee Membership and Goals:

- Honors Council ~ Misty Hathcock thanked Michael Matthews for his long service on this committee. Amy Good, who is in Germany, is the chair of this committee. Members include Bettie Ray Butler, Cindy Gilson, Jim Bird, and Matt Eastin. The goals are to promote Honors Council as early as possible to freshman by establishing a partnership with TEAL. Updating brochures, sending out recruitment emails to students, reviewing the timeline and updating the handbook are some of the other items they will be working on.
- Diversity Committee ~ Lisa Merriweather shared the committee membership which includes Gloria Campbell-Whatley, Erik Byker, Lyndon Abrams, Victor Mack, Susan Harden, Bettie Ray Butler, Brenda McMahon, Erin Miller and Greg Wiggan. They are going from an ad-hoc to a standing committee. They are working on their by-laws.

- CAEP Committee ~ Laura Hart announced the committee member's names. They include Ann Cash, Paola Pilonieta, Tracy Rock, Sejal Foxx, Jeanneine Jones, David Pugalee, Ya-yu Lo, Shawnee Wakeman, Florence Martin, Bill Anderson, Tesh Ramey and Teresa Petty ex. Officio. The committee will meet 4 times per year. Accreditation is in a 1 ½ years. They are focusing on rethinking the faculty data review process.
- Engagement Council ~ Bill Anderson presented for Victor Mack who is the chair. Members include Dawson Hancock, Teresa Petty, Laura Hart, Joyce Frazier, Chance Lewis, Bethany Myers, Wills Citty, Daniel Gutierrez, Susan Harden, Lan Kolano, Brandi Hinson and Alison Siler. The council has met twice. They will focus on the goal of increasing enrollment in undergraduate and graduate programs. They are focusing on visiting high schools and targeting students that show an interest in teaching. They need your ideas too. Wills added that social media outlets are a good recruitment source by reaching out our star alumni to tell their story. We have to think differently.
- O College Review Committee ~ Chance Lewis stated the members. They include Michael Matthews, Jack Culbreth, Jae Hoon Lim, Maryann Mraz, Tracy Rock and David Test. Their goal is to conduct a thorough, fair, and timely review for all faculty members. They will also recommend work load appeals and in the spring, will conduct the evaluation process for the dean and associate deans.

10. Other business

- ➤ Chuang Wang, program coordinator for the new PhD in Educational Research, Measurement, and Evaluation, announced that they are recruiting students for this new program. This program will be the 5th doctoral program for the college.
- Chance Lewis announced that the International Conference on Urban Education will be in San Juan, Puerto Rico beginning Nov. 3rd. This conference puts us on the national stage.

Meeting adjourned 10:27 a.m.

Next College Meeting: Friday, November 11, 2016