

College of Education Faculty/Staff Meeting Friday, April 21, 2017 9:30a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Goudes Lecture Hall ~ COED 010

Attendees: Lyndon Abrams, Bill Anderson, Mary Jo Anderson, Joshua Avery, Lonnie Bateman, Janet Baxter, Ashley Bayer, Tracey Benson, Ian Binns, Joyce Brigman, Jamie Brown, Anne Cash, Marvin Chapman, Wills Citty, Ed Conway, Rosslyn Crandell, Karen Cross, John Culbreth, Pam Erickson, Tom Fisher, Paul Fitchett, Claudia Flowers, Joyce Frazier, Susan Furr, Cindy Gilson, Tehia Glass, Kathie Goldman, Amy Good, Michael Green, Dawson Hancock, Susan Harden, Hank Harris, Laura Hart, Misty Hathcock, Charles Hughes, Regina Johnson, Kia Jones, Scott Kissau, Brian Kissel, Lan Kolano, Joan Lachance, Kate Lamberson, Richard Lambert, Chance Lewis, Chrislyn Luce, Victor Mack, Rex Mangiaracina, Florence Martin, Michael Matthews, Ellen McIntyre, Adriana Medina, Clare Merlin, Lisa Merriweather, Erica Moody, Maryann Mraz, Adam Myers, Christopher O'Brien, Kristie Opiola, Teresa Petty, Zoi Philippakos, Paola Pilonieta, Drew Polly, Phyllis Post, Mike Putman, Shagufta Raja, Susan Rebich, Luke Reinke, Bob Rickelman, Tracy Rock, Ayesha Sadaf, Spencer Salas, Rebecca Shore, Brad Smith, JaneDiane Smith, Jessi Smith, Katie Swart, Bruce Taylor, Jean Vintinner, Chuang Wang, Wendy Wood.

1. Call to Order

♦ Approval of Minutes, 3-17-17. Dr. Christy Luce made the motion to approve the minutes.
Dr. Chuang Wang seconded the motion. Minutes were approved by common consent.

2. Announcements

- Hank, Victor and Ellen just came back from the Cone Center where they welcomed over 200 community members at the 2017 Latinx Mental Health Summit to bring more mental health help to the Latino community. Thanks to Hank, Daniel and the Counseling department for their work.
- ✤ Cato Award Ceremony ~ April 21, 11:00 am
- Retirement Celebration for Michael Green ~ April 21, 2-3:30 COED 165
- Honors & Awards Day ~ April 21, 5pm Goudes Room
- Commencement, May 13, 3pm
- ✤ New Student Convocation, August 21
- Date of first College Faculty Meeting ~ Friday, August 25
- The Provost shared with us that Special Ed tied for #2 in production of research doctorates. UNCC will be using this as a highlight for the whole university.
- Congratulations to Kristen Beach on receiving one of three "outstanding reviewer awards" for her work on the TEC Editorial Board from the Journal of the Council of Exceptional Children. This award is given to high quality reviewers.
- Dean's Meeting on Full Professor: What Does It Take? August 17th, 11am; August 23rd, 11am. Also invited to this workshop are members of the DRC, CRC and Assistant Professors. We will be using the new guidelines.
- Care Award: This award is for perfect attendance over the past two years at faculty meetings. The award goes to Jae Hoon Lim and Kathie Goldman.
- ♦ We want your recently published books for the display cabinet. Bring them to Kathie.

 Picnics – We will do something different next year regarding the picnic. Picnics will be held at the department level and the dean's office will supply funds for the entrée.

3. Associate Deans Reports

> Teresa

- Will send out the Conceptual Framework for you to read, followed by an electronic vote.
- Undergraduate Research Conference in SAC today until 5pm. Our students will be there.
- Dawson
 - Next year we will hold a Research Colloquia by one faculty member 30 minutes prior to the faculty meeting. Everyone is invited to attend.
 - Faculty Grant Mentoring Program A mentor will receive \$2000 for submission of a grant proposal and if the grant is awarded, the mentee and mentor will divide equally an additional award equivalent to 1% of the granted award, up to a maximum of \$4000.

4. Committee Reports

- Diversity Committee Lisa Merriweather thanked the committee members. Their accomplishments were, by-laws passed, completed diversity audit, hosted Eddie Moore, engaging monthly E3 programming and a diversity website.
- Doctoral Council Dawson Hancock stated the committee met four times. They talked about systems and better opportunities for doc programs. Everyone is invited to attend the meetings.
- ITAC Dane Hughes thanked the members. The committee worked on brainstorming on the labs, citrix, laptop carts, canvas, clicker from your phone, and funding priorities which were all approved.
- CAEP Committee Laura Hart stated the members. Their work included starting the fall format for documenting data that was revised and sent to chairs, the licensure program and updating the committee on CACREP.
- Graduate Curriculum Committee Joan Lachance thanked the members. They are now very familiar with Curriculog. Kelly walked everyone through all the screens. It is up and running.
- Honors Council Amy Good reported that recruiting is their #1 priority. She recognized Michael Green for bringing in four new applicants. She thanked Adriana for teaching the classes. They started a task force for revisioning and for the first time they completed an assessment report.
- Internationalization Committee Adriana Medina stated that they updated the rubric for the faculty travel grant; they held their 2nd College Study Abroad Fair. Goals for next year are student travel awards and getting content up on the webpage.
- Undergraduate Student Awards Brad Smith announced that the work has been completed for tonight's Award Ceremony. This year there are 24 Goudes scholarships at \$5000 apiece.

5. Retirement Presentations

- Michael Green Bob Rickelman recognized Michael who has been at UNCC for 39 years.
- ✤ Janet Baxter Chris O'Brien acknowledged Janet as an amazing program director.
- Wendy Wood Chris O'Brien recognized Wendy for her true passion and advocacy for people with disabilities
- John Beattie Chris O'Brien acknowledged John who has been at UNCC since 1983. John was unable to attend.

6. College Awards ~

- 2017 Faculty Award for Sustained Service to Public Schools Dr. Victor Mack presented the award to Dr. Lan Kolano.
- > 2017 College of Education Faculty Diversity Award

Dr. Lan Kolano presented the award to Dr. Spencer Salas.

- 2017 College of Education Award for Excellence in Research Dr. Rich Lambert presented the award to Dr. Lynn Ahlgrim-Delzell
- 2017 College of Education Award for Excellence in Teaching Dr. Brian Kissel presented this award to Dr. Amy Good.
- 2017 SHRA/SPA Staff Employee of the Year Dr. Hathcock presented the award to Ashley Flatley.

Meeting adjourned 10:50 a.m.

Next College Meeting: Friday, August 25, 2017