Minutes

College of Education Faculty/Staff Meeting Friday, April 22, 2016 9:30a.m. – 10:50a.m. Goudes Lecture Hall ~ COED 010

Attendees: Lyndon Abrams, Lynn Ahlgrim-Delzell, Bill Anderson, Kelly Anderson, Lonnie Bateman, Ian Binns, Jamie Brown, Bettie Ray Butler, Gloria Campbell-Whatley, Marian Castle, Wills Citty, Ed Conway, Vivian Correa, Rosslyn Crandell, Hilary Dack, Annie Dagons, Mark D'Amico, Sandra Dika, David Dunaway, Dee Ellington, Pam Erickson, Tom Fisher, Claudia Flowers, Denise Fluellen, Sejal Foxx, Joyce Frazier, Susan Furr, Kathie Goldman, Amy Good, Michael Green, Daniel Gutierrez, Dawson Hancock, Susan Harden, Laura Hart, Misty Hathcock, Brandi Hinson, Erica Hobbs, Charles Hughes, Charles Hutchison, Kia Jones, LuAnn Jordan, Do-Hong Kim, Elonda Kinloch, Scott Kissau, Brian Kissel, Lan Kolano, Joan Lachance, Kate Lamberson, Richard Lambert, Jae Hoon Lim, Ya-yu Lo, Chrislyn Luce, Victor Mack, Rex Mangiaracina, Florence Martin, Melinda McCabe, Ellen McIntyre, Brenda McMahon, Adriana Medina, Clare Merlin, Debra Morris, Maryann Mraz, Christopher O'Brien, Barbara Parrish, Zoi Philippakos, Jack Piel, Drew Polly, Phyllis Post, Tesh Ramey, Tracy Rock, Spencer Salas, Rebecca Shore, Brad Smith, JaneDiane Smith, Melba Spooner, Andrea Strong, Jim Watson, Ed Wierzalis, Greg Wiggan, Patricia Wilkins, Charles Wood, Karen Wood.

1. Call to Order

- ❖ Approval of Minutes, 3-18-16 − Dr. Drew Polly made the motion to approve the minutes. Dr. Ian Binns seconded the motion. Minutes were approved by common consent.
- * Reminder to sign in at the entrance

2. Announcements

Cato

Ellen announced a \$5 million gift from the Cato Corporation. This gift will name our college the Cato College of Education. This work was started a long time ago by Dean Mary Lynne Calhoun and Development Officer Tim Rogers. This gift will also include student scholarships and faculty excellence awards.

- ❖ Honors & Awards Day ~ April 29, 5pm Goudes Room Ellen invited everyone to attend.
- ❖ RPT Faculty Forum Dates: April 29, 1:00-2:00 in COED 010 **AND** May 3, 12:30-1:30 in CHHS 159

Ellen encouraged everyone to attend one of these sessions. She thanked faculty for participating in the survey. The committee, which is made up of volunteers and invited faculty representing all levels, will analyze the data. They will work on this during the summer and will bring their findings to the college in the fall.

- ❖ Commencement, May 14, 3pm
- ❖ Date of first College Faculty Meeting ~ Friday, August 19
- ❖ New Student Convocation, August 22
- ❖ Picnic Sept. 16, 4-7pm
- ❖ Strategic Investment Proposals due May 1
- ❖ Display Case for Student Work coming soon A display case has been ordered for the atrium to showcase our students' work.
- Welcome: Ms. Brandi Hinson, Office of the Dean Kathie introduced Brandi Hinson who is the new Administrative Assistant in the Dean's Office. She will also assist Dane Hughes and Bill Anderson.

- ❖ Distinguished Faculty Award from the UNC Charlotte Alumni Association Video Congratulations to Melba Spooner for receiving this prestigious award. The video from the award ceremony was viewed.
- ❖ Ann Clark will be on campus May 4, 1:00 pm in room 102 to speak about the Early College High School at UNC Charlotte. Please try to attend.
- Rooms 102 and 165 will be transformed into active learning classrooms. They will be ready by fall.
- ❖ Awards & Recognitions
 - ➤ Tina Heafner attended the President of the United States Celebration and Reception for Recognition of National Teacher of the Year, State Teachers of the Year and Great Educators.
 - Tina Heafner and Teresa Petty received the SITE Outstanding Research Paper Award
 - ➤ Vivian Correa received the Latina Women in Education award.
 - > Florence Martin and Patti Wilkins were recognized for their Quality Matters courses by CTL.
 - Chance Lewis and members of the Urban Collaborative toured the US Department of Education.

3. Deborah Walker Presentation

Deborah Walker presented on the framework of the diversity audit. Her PowerPoint is attached. An analysis of the diversity meetings will take place over the summer. She will come back and share the data with faculty and staff. `

4. Approval of the Dispositions Rubric – Laura Hart

Laura asked faculty to adopt the dispositions rubric which was approved by the Faculty Council. Drew Polly made the motion to approve. Paul Fitchett seconded the motion. The rubric was approved.

5. Committee Reports

- Doctoral Council Dawson Hancock
 - Dawson reported that the council met 4 times this year. They discussed the SLOs, rubric development, graduate student recruitment, funding, courses, PD workshops, Project Mosaic, awards and CMS research. Everyone is invited to attend these meetings.
- CRC Maryann Mraz
 - Maryann reported that their work included 13 RPT files and one clinical file this year. They worked on workload appeals and reviews of the deans.
- Honors in Education Misty Hathcock
 Misty stated that they were tasked with the honors redesign which included looking at
 courses and increasing the numbers in the program. After university approval,
 implementation will be in the Fall 2017.
- Internationalization Committee Adriana Medina
 The committee met 8 times and discussed travel grants, study abroad fair, and reviewed the travel rubric for study abroad travel. They also worked on aligning their goals with the college goals.

6. Retirement of Jack Piel

Michael Green spoke about the highlights of Jack's career and shared a few interesting stories on their travels. He will be missed. Ellen then presented Jack with his retirement certificate and a gift from the college.

7. Awards ~

- ➤ 2016 Faculty Award for Sustained Service to Public Schools

 Joyce Frazier presented this award to Dr. Jim Watson for his service to schools.

 She stated his accomplishments and presented him with a plaque.
- > 2016 College of Education Faculty Diversity Award

- Greg Wiggan presented this award to Dr. Lan Kolano for her commitment to diversity. He stated her accomplishments and presented her with a plaque.
- ➤ 2016 College of Education Award for Excellence in Research
 Hank Harris presented the Research award to Rich Lambert and Paul Fitchett on
 their outstanding journal article. A plaque was also presented.
- ➤ 2016 College of Education Award for Excellence in Teaching
 Greg Wiggan presented this award to Brian Kissel for his outstanding teaching.
 He was also presented with a plaque.
- ➤ 2016 SHRA/SPA and EHRA/EPA Staff Employees of the Year
 Kathie Goldman presented the SHRA Staff Award to Pam Erickson and the
 EHRA Award to Laura Hart. She briefly stated their commitments to the college.
 They each received a plaque.

8. Other business

Meeting adjourned at 11:00 a.m.

Next College Meeting: Friday, August 19, 2016