

Minutes

Cato College of Education Faculty/Staff Meeting Thursday, April 25, 2019 1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. Goudes Lecture Hall ~ COED 010

Attendees: Lyndon Abrams, Daniel Alston, Mary Jo Anderson, Joshua Avery, Lonnie Bateman, Kristen Beach, Tracey Benson, Joyce Brigman, Pamela Broom, Bettie Ray Butler, Erik Byker, Gloria Campbell-Whatley, Anne Cash, Heather Coffey, Ed Conway, Karen Cross, Hilary Dack, Mark D'Amico, Debra Diegmann, Sandra Dika, Levon Edwards, Mitch Eisner, Paul Fitchett, Erin FitzPatrick, Sejal Foxx, Joyce Frazier, Susan Furr, Lisa Gaskin, Cindy Gilson, Tehia Glass, Kathie Goldman, Amy Good, James Grant, Tisha Greene, Karen Haar, Dawson Hancock, Stephen Hancock, Laura Hart, Walter Hart, Misty Hathcock, Barbara Howard, Cathy Howell, Regina Johnson, Sarah Johnson, Kia Jones, Jessi Kiker, Stella Kim, Elonda Kinloch, Scott Kissau, Brian Kissel, Lan Kolano, Joan Lachance, Richard Lambert, Pamela Lassiter, Brandi Lewis, Chance Lewis, Jae Hoon Lim, Ya-yu Lo, Alan Mabe, Victor Mack, Valerie Mazzotti, Laura McCorkle, Ellen McIntyre, Pam McIntyre, Adriana Medina, Clare Merlin, Erin Miller, Taryne Mingo, Erica Moody, Robert Moore, Maryann Mraz, Adam Myers, Xiaoxia Newton, Christopher O'Brien, Kristie Opiola, Beth Oyarzun, Robert Pennington, Teresa Petty, Lisa Pickett, Paola Pilonieta, Drew Polly, Mike Putman, Susan Rebich, Luke Reinke, Tracy Rock, Sandy Rogelberg, Donna Sacco, Ayesha Sadaf, Spencer Salas, JaneDiane Smith, Michelle Stephan, Bruce Taylor, David Test, Jean Vintinner, Virginia Walker, Chuang Wang, Jessica Ward, Carl Westine, Colleen Whittingham, Madelyn Williams-Colonnese, Charles Wood.

1. Call to Order

✤ Approval of Minutes, 3-28-19 Dr. Drew Polly made the motion to approve the minutes. Dr. Donna Sacco seconded the motion. Minutes were approved by common consent.

 2018 Student of the Year, Ms. Shelby Ledermann ~ Joyce Frazier announced that Ms. Shelby Ledermann received the Fall 2018 Student of the Year award. Unfortunately, Ms. Ledermann was unable to attend. Her plaque will be mailed to her.

3. Important Dates/ Announcements

- College Research Colloquia (following college meeting), Dr. Xiaoxia Newton Ellen requested that everyone stay for this presentation after the meeting even if it is outside your topic. You can learn so much. She thanked Dawson for arranging these interesting presentations.
- Honors & Awards Day ~ April 26
- Faculty End-of-Semester Gathering ~ May 10. Please rsvp to Lisa Pickett.



The UNIVERSITY of NORTH CAROLINA at CHARLOTTE

- Commencement ~ May 11
- Dr. Jonnie H. McLeod Institute on Addiction ~ May 13-17
- Multicultural Play Therapy Center Conference ~ Jun 24-28
- Date of first college meeting ~ August 22, 2019, 1:00-2:30
- Cato Early Career Faculty Award Nominations Due Sept. 1
 This award is limited to tenure track faculty. You must self-nominate. Dr. Kristen
 Beach was our first awardee last year. Next year we will present two awards, the
 Cato Distinguished Faculty Award and the Early Career Award.
- Intersectionality Award from the Coalition for (Dis)ability Ryan Miller received this award.
- SGA Professor of the Year Mitch Eisner received this award
- Legislators/Dignataries guidelines
- Diversity PD Summary Ellen showed a slide with the many diversity events that were held this year. Many faculty commented on events that they attended and enjoyed and found powerful. Ellen stated that we worked hard on equity, diversity and inclusion this year and is inspired by everyone and the work that we are doing. Thanks to Victor for all the organization work.
- Countdown to CAEP 271 days until we submit the report. Please complete the dispositions calibration modules by May 30.
- Thank you to Dawson as he steps down from Associate Dean to a faculty line. He has been at UNCC since 1995, 8 years as chair and 6 years as associate dean.
- Thank you to Hank Harris as he steps down from chair into a faculty line. He has been at UNCC since 2004 and chair for 9 years. The department chair is the hardest job in the college.
- Thank you to Claudia Flowers as she goes back into a faculty line and a 9-month contract. She came to UNCC in 1995 and was chair for 3 years.

4. Presentations

- Polly Rogers Crowdfund Campaign Team Sharon Horinka from Advancement spoke about the crowdfund campaign for the sensory garden in memory of Polly Rogers. Polly was a special education student and daughter of Tim Rogers who was our development officer. The goal was reached with over \$19,000 raised by 250 donors. More funding is needed for maintenance. Additional events are being planned. Payroll deductions are an option. Barbara Howard mentioned that Pam McIntyre, LuAnn Jordan and Lisa Gaskin came up with the sensory garden idea. Barbara asked faculty and staff to consider making a donation for this special garden.
- Faculty Fellows announcement ~ Teresa Petty announced this year's Faculty Fellows, Ayesha Sadaf for teaching and Kristie Opiola for research. There was no application for research this year. She invited everyone to attend the Faculty Fellows Forum on April 29, 12:30-2:00 in COED 110. There will be short presentations from this year's faculty fellows.

- Teaching Fellows update ~ Heather Coffey stated that she is finishing up the first year of teaching fellows. A promotional video has been completed. She just received 25 names for the second cohort. The deadline to apply for the scholarship is October. Interviews in March. Contact her with any questions.
- Honors program ~ Cindy Gilson & Amy Good and students Cindy recognized the honors committee. They had 13 applicants, which is a huge increase. She asked mentors and readers to stand up for recognition. Two honor students, Parks Drake and Calysta Castillo spoke about their projects.
- New Director of Development, James Grant James provided a brief bio on himself. He will be visiting departments to meet with faculty to see how he can assist them.
- David Test Retirement ~ Charlie Wood provided pictures of David through the years and spoke about his career which included over 160 publications and \$35 million in grant funding which is the highest in the university.
- Faculty Fellowship presentation ~ Chance Lewis
 Chance provided a presentation on the work he is doing as the Provost's
 Faculty Fellow. Some of the work includes:
 - A website was developed, <u>https://diversity.uncc.edu</u>
 - Advise on anything diversity, inclusion and access
 - A working group
 - Working on a new diversity plan
 - o Mandating chief division officers
 - Events will be highlighted

A progress report will be distributed on all seven key objectives of the Diversity Plan. The plan is attached.

5. College Awards

- 2019 Faculty Award for Sustained Service to Public Schools Heather Coffey presented the award to Joan Lachance.
- 2019 Cato College of Education Faculty Diversity Award Gloria Campbell-Whatley presented the award to Lisa Merriweather
- 2019 Cato College of Education Award for Excellence in Research Ayesha Sadaf presented the award to Anne Cash
- 2019 Cato College of Education Award for Excellence in Teaching Kristie
 Opiola presented the award to Spencer Salas.
- 2019 EHRA Staff Employee of the Year Dawson Hancock presented the award to Lonnie Bateman
- 2019 SHRA Staff Employee of the Year- Karen Haar presented the award to Brandi Lewis.

6. Other business

Tracy Rock reminded everyone to complete the administrator surveys by Sunday.

Meeting was adjourned at 2:28 p.m.

2:45-3:15 College Research Colloquia: Dr. Xiaoxia Newton

"Empowering Students Placed at Risk: Giving a Voice to Those Who Go Unheard."

Next College Meeting: Thursday, August 22, 2019