# Minutes

# College of Education Faculty/Staff Meeting Friday, February 16, 2018 9:30a.m. – 11:00 a.m. Goudes Lecture Hall ~ COED 010

Attendees: Lyndon Abrams, Lynn Ahlgrim-Delzell, Kelly Anderson, Joshua Avery, Valerie Balog, Ashley Bayer, Ian Binns, Jamie Brown, Bettie Ray Butler, Anne Cash, Marian Castle, Rosslyn Crandell, Karen Cross, Hilary Dack, Mark D'Amico, Kristin Davin, Debra Diegmann, Mitch Eisner, Pam Erickson, Paul Fitchett, Erin FitzPatrick, Claudia Flowers, Joyce Frazier, Susan Furr, Cindy Gilson, Tehia Glass, Kathie Goldman, Amy Good, Dawson Hancock, Laura Hart, Misty Hathcock, Tina Heafner, Cathy Howell, Charles Hutchison, Regina Johnson, Jeanneine Jones, Kia Jones, LuAnn Jordan, Scott Kissau, Lan Kolano, Jae Hoon Lim, Chrislyn Luce, Rex Mangiaracina, Florence Martin, Michael Matthews, Laura McCorkle, Ellen McIntyre, Pam McIntyre, Clare Merlin, Lisa Merriweather, Erin Miller, Ryan Miller, Erica Moody, Christopher O'Brien, Kristie Opiola, Beth Oyarzun, Teresa Petty, Zoi Philippakos, Lisa Pickett, Paola Pilonieta, Drew Polly, Phyllis Post, Mike Putman, Shagufta Raja, Luke Reinke, Bob Rickelman, Donna Sacco, Ayesha Sadaf, Spencer Salas, JaneDiane Smith, Michelle Stephan, Shawnee Wakeman, Carl Westine, Colleen Whittingham, Madelyn Williams-Colonnese, Charles Wood, Karen.

## 1. Call to Order

✤ Approval of Minutes, 10-27-17. Dr. Charles Hutchison made the motion to approve the minutes. Dr. Dawson Hancock seconded the motion. Minutes were approved by common consent.

## 3. Announcements

## **\*** Presentation of Plaques for Student Teacher of the Year

- Joyce Frazier announced that Melissa Simon was the student teacher of the year for spring 2017. She was unable to attend today's meeting. The plaque will be mailed to her.
- Joyce also announced that Pete Johnson was student of the year for fall 2017. Pete was in attendance and thanked the college.

## \* Awards

- Diane Browder Has been selected for the Division on Autism & Developmental Disabilities' (DADD) 2018 Burton-Blatt Humanitarian Award. DADD is a division of the Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)
- Belva Collins NC Teacher Education Division (TED) Outstanding Career Award in Teacher Preparation. A division of the CEC.
- Tina Heafner American Educational Research Association (AERA)
  Technology as an Agent of Change for Teaching and Learning (TACTL) Best
  Paper Award. She has won 3 paper awards from AERA in the past.
- UNC Charlotte Alumni Association Distinguished Faculty Award
  Teresa Petty and Misty Hathcock presented this prestigious award to Jeanneine
  Jones. This award recognizes excellence in teaching and outstanding service to

the university and their field. A luncheon is set for April 20 at the Hilton Center City. Others in the college that have won this award in the past were Jim Lyons, Joanne Springs, Mary Lynne Calhoun and Melba Spooner.

- Kappa Delta Pi (KDP) award-winning video
  Misty Hathcock announced that KDP won this award out of 650 chapters in the world. She thanked the OIT boys for their assistance and Tom Fisher for putting the videos together. This chapter has 122 members. The video was shown.
- RPT Training dates: March 27, 1-4pm & March 28, 9-12pm COED 110 Please attend one of these trainings if you are on a DRC or CRC or going up for promotion. Advance and Legal are putting this training together. Let your chair know if you are unable to attend.

# Opportunity Research Symposium: Monday, April 30, 2pm-7pm Ellen announced this exciting event that is a drop in. Please try to attend.

# ✤ CACREP Visit update

The accreditation visit was this week. It was successful. In 2-3 weeks we will get a report and then will need to respond. Final results will be in July 2018. Hank thanked his department for their hard work.

# **\*** Teacher Prep Redesign Update – Ellen and Paul Fitchett

Ellen provided an update on the work that everyone is involved in. This work is being done nationally. We will break down the silos to work together on our work. We have no intention of restructuring our departments. We're at the forefront in redesigning teacher preparation. We are leading the state in redesign. Anxiety comes with change. Our work will be supported with resources. We hope to have 100% participation. Paul stated that next month they are rolling out the Task Forces. We will work with teachers, student teachers, Principals and Superintendents. Put the date of March 16, 11:10-12:10 in your calendars. The alternate date is March 20, 2:00-3:00.

## 4. Associate Deans Reports

Teresa Petty

Applications for the 2018-2019 Faculty Fellows are due by April 2. For more information: <u>https://education.uncc.edu/about-college/faculty-fellows/apply-be-faculty-fellow</u>. We will announce the committee's decision at the April 20<sup>th</sup> Faculty Meeting.

## 5. Presentation – A Stroke of Luck ~ Juli Dixon, Jessica Dixon and Alex Dixon

A presentation by Dr. Juli Dixon and her daughters Jessica and Alex on the challenges and successes of special needs children in public school.

## Meeting adjourned at 11:15 AM

Next College Meeting: Friday, March 16, 2018