## Minutes Department of Educational Leadership Meeting January 17, 2012

Persons in Attendance: Lynn Ahlgrim-Delzell, Bob Algozzine, Jim Bird, Mark D'Amico, Sandra Dika, Meredith DiPietro, Mickey Dunaway, Claudia Flowers, Dawson Hancock, Delores Lee, Jae Hoon Lim, Corey Lock, Jim Lyons, Alan Mabe, Valorie McAlpin, Brenda McMahon, Lisa Merriweather, Rebecca Shore, Patti Wilkins, Becca Hefti, and Joanne Zhang.

The meeting began at 12:30 pm. The following issues were discussed:

- 1. We welcomed our newest Department colleagues Becca Hefti and Alan Mabe!
- 2. Everyone congratulated: (a) Claudia Flowers as this year's recipient of UNC Charlotte's Harshini V. de Silva Graduate Mentor Award; (b) Lisa Merriweather regarding her receipt of a Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Grant; (c) Sandra Dika, Mark D'Amico, Bob Algozzine, Ted Elling, and Elaine O'Reilly regarding their receipt of a Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Grant; (d) Mark D'Amico and Spencer Salas regarding their receipt of Faculty Research Grant; (e) Chuang Wang regarding his receipt of Faculty Research Grant and regarding his new status as a citizen of the United States; and (f) our seven Department colleagues whose dossiers were recently endorsed by the College Review Committee and the Dean.
- 3. The Chair: (a) distributed the minutes of the Department meeting on November 15 and asked faculty members to offer suggestions for improvement; (b) invited everyone to nominate someone or to ask the Chair to nominate someone by February 15 for the College awards in teaching, research, and service (c) invited everyone to nominate someone or to ask the Chair to nominate someone by February 15 for a University Alumni Award; (d) encouraged everyone who served on an EdD dissertation committee in 2011 to consider nominating their students for the Legacy for Leadership Outstanding Dissertation Award; (e) distributed the College Course Syllabi Guidance and agreed to seek clarification on the requirement pertaining to religious accommodations; (f) encouraged everyone with an outstanding course outline to submit that course outline as soon as possible; and (g) reminded the Department Review Committee that we will meet on January 24 to plan the fall 2012 course schedule and to discuss the SACS reports that are due on February 1.
- 4. The program coordinators highlighted activities of their respective programs. For Educational Leadership, Jim Bird invited everyone to attend the doctoral dinner on February 28 and announced that Rita Smith, a well-known author, will be the guest speaker. Jim reported that the Doctoral Advisory Committee has been meeting regularly to discuss several important issues and that we will soon have new rubrics for evaluating various activities/products of our EdD students. For School Administration, Delores Lee reported that candidates are beginning to submit applications for admission, that we will begin two new MSA cohorts at our distance education sites in Rowan and Gaston counties this summer, and that the School Administration Advisory Committee is examining procedures for collecting, storing, and reporting electronic evidences. For Instructional Systems Technology, Meredith DiPietro reported that we have admitted 52 teachers from across North Carolina into our MEd in Instructional Systems Technology program. These students are fully funded by the State's Impact 5 grant. For Curriculum and Supervision, Rebecca Shore reported that she is still working with the students who remain in that program. All of the program coordinators asked that everyone help with the admissions process this spring by participating in interviews of candidates, reviews of applications, etc.

- 5. On behalf of Rich Lambert, Director of the Center for Educational Measurement and Evaluation (CEME), the Chair reported that the CEME looks forward to supporting portions of North Carolina's involvement in the Race-to-the-Top project.
- 6. Faculty members were given the opportunity to discuss activities of the faculty governance committees on which they serve. As chair of our Legacy for Leadership Outstanding Dissertation Award Selection Committee, Sandra Dika reminded us that nominations for 2011 should be submitted through the Department Chair by the end of February. As our representatives on the University Faculty Council, Mark D'Amico and Rebecca Shore reported that the Council recently approved (by one vote) a 100% online course evaluation program. Valorie McAlpin reported that the new on-line program will begin this semester in the College of Education and in the College of Health and Human Services.
- 7. Faculty members discussed topics of interest/importance. Sandra Dika reminded us that the next Department Research Colloquium will occur at 10:30 am on Tuesday, February 21, in COED 061, during which representatives of the CEME will discuss evaluation projects which they support. Anyone interested in possibly becoming involved in these projects should attend this colloquium. Lisa Merriweather discussed her creation of a new doctoral course (ADMN 8181 Equity and Social Justice in Adult Education) primarily for students in the Community track of our EdD program. Faculty members were asked to express their approval/disapproval of this new course by January 20. Brenda McMahon said that our UCEA membership steering committee is working on our application to join UCEA. Many documents being created for SACS and NCATE will be useful as we prepare our UCEA application. Jim Bird said that we are transitioning from "comprehensive" to "qualifying" examinations in our EdD program. Jim said that the Doctoral Advisory Committee is considering additional improvements, such as requiring students to take their qualifying examinations between 24 and 36 hours in the program.

The meeting ended at 1:50 pm.