Early Childhood Educators Honored for Excellence During Pandemic

Early childhood educators across the country responded with empathy and creativity to support children and families during the COVID-19 pandemic. Now three leaders in the field are being recognized for their efforts with the B. H. Rowland Foundation Award for Excellence. The foundation is the brainchild of special education doctoral student Amanda Vestal, who created […]

Professor Misty Hathcock Earns Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Preparation Award

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: Teaching

Cato College of Education clinical professor Misty Hathcock has been honored with the 2023 Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Preparation Award by the North Carolina Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (NCACTE).  Hathcock is the Director of Alumni Engagement and New Teacher Support Program at UNC Charlotte and has a deep educational background as a five-time […]

Dean Malcolm Butler Named to Who’s Who in Black Charlotte

Categories: Uncategorized

Cato College of Education Dean Malcolm Butler is among five members of UNC Charlotte’s faculty or staff named to Who’s Who in Black Charlotte. An entity of Real Times Media, Who’s Who in Black Charlotte documents the positive achievements of Black Charlotteans who are making outstanding contributions to the communities and organizations they serve.  “The […]

Alumna Andrea Guerrero Featured By Hola News

by: Galo BairdPhotos: HOLA News | Norsan MediaTranslated from original article The 21-year-old was born in Charlotte, but her parents are from Acámbaro, in the state of Guanajuato, Mexico. What Andrea Guerrero never imagined was that after having studied at the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools (CMS) it would lead her to be part of its staff, starting her first […]

Alumnus chris myers named principal of the year

Master of School Administration graduate Chris Myers is Cabarrus County Schools Principal of the Year. Chris Myers, principal at Northwest Cabarrus High School, has been named the 2023-24 Cabarrus County Schools Principal of the Year. The principal of the year program is sponsored by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and Wells Fargo. Superintendent […]

Gambrell fellows to address Critical community needs

How do we address issues of equity and opportunity in growing career fields? How can we help students bounce back from learning gaps resulting from the pandemic? Those are just a few of the questions that UNC Charlotte faculty members will work to answer as part of the fifth cohort of the Gambrell Faculty Fellows. […]

Mebane Hall dedicated in honor of multimillion dollar endowment supporting early literacy

UNC Charlotte has named the building that houses the Cato College of Education Mebane Hall in honor of a transformative endowment of up to $23 million from the Mebane Foundation to support early literacy. The gift will establish the Mebane Early Literacy Center and allow the University to greatly expand its efforts as a leader in reading instruction in […]

Professor Amy Good Named finalist for top teaching award

“I believe the best teacher educators are those who innovate, reflect on their practice, consider ways to collaborate with others and inspire other teachers to see possibilities within their own classrooms,” Good said.

Research and Event News and Notes

Categories: General News, Uncategorized Tags: Default

The Cato College of Education faculty have been productive in research and creative discovery. Collectively, they have produced 161 journal articles, 57 book chapters, 11 books, 16 technical reports and 23 additional publications over the past year. The Department of Special Education and Child Development was the highest grant-receiving department at the university. The faculty […]

Celebration of Life: Dean Emerita Mary Lynne Calhoun

Categories: General News, Uncategorized Tags: Default

Dean Emerita Mary Lynne Calhoun passed away peacefully on Sunday, May 21, 2023. Calhoun retired from UNC Charlotte in 2013 after 31 years of service as a member of the faculty and a leader in the Cato College of Education. She arrived at UNC Charlotte in 1982 as an assistant professor of special education before […]