Professional Education Council

Purpose: The UNC Charlotte Professional Education Council (PEC) provides oversight for the University-wide mission to prepare excellent educators. Its purpose is to provide a forum for regular, systematic, and helpful communication among faculty representatives of all teacher education and other school professional education programs (e.g., educational leadership, school counseling) in the University in order to maximize our collective understanding of issues related to professional education and our effectiveness in preparing excellent professionals. While PECs on some university campuses examine and vote on teacher education curriculum proposals, the PEC at UNC Charlotte serves in a more collaborative and advisory capacity to the membership, the faculty, administrative colleagues (including department chairs and deans of the Colleges that house teacher education programs), and to the Dean of the College of Education. The current curriculum approval channels at UNC Charlotte already provide an effective means of ensuring appropriate input and consultation from all departments affected by curriculum proposals. The PEC at UNC Charlotte discusses, advises, and votes on larger conceptual matters such as major program initiatives, major assessment initiatives, and changes in the nature of the Council itself.

Membership: All teacher education programs in the University are represented as are other professional education programs (e.g., school counseling, educational leadership). Members are appointed by department chairs for one-year, renewable terms. The Council is co-chaired by the Associate Dean of Education, the Associate Dean of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and the Associate Dean of Arts and Architecture who convene and preside over the meetings. The Provost and the Dean of the College of Education appoint additional members to the Council. The Council typically meets two times each semester.

Responsibilities: Members have the responsibility to 1) communicate with their department chairs and colleague faculty members information about teacher and other professional education standards, policies and practices, 2) advise the Dean of the College of Education on issues concerning teacher education, 3) recruit and support teacher education candidates in their field of study, and 4) engage in the process of continuous improvement by reviewing goals and assessment data.

Professional Education Council 2022-2023

Name Department/ CollegeDepartment Chair
Teresa Petty*Sr. Associate Dean,
Co-Chair & Executive Committee Member
tmpetty COED n/a
Banita Brown* Associate Dean,
Co-Chair & Executive Committee Member
bwbrown CLAS n/a
Lynne Conner* Interim Associate Dean,
Co-Chair & Executive Committee Member
lconner2 COA+A n/a
Taryne Mingo CLSG tmingo COED Sejal Foxx
Debra Morris EDLD dsmorris COED Hank Harris (Interim)
Adam Myers MDSK amyers35 COED Lan Kolano
Premkumar Pugalenthi MDSK ppugalen COED Lan Kolano
Spencer Salas MDSK ssalas COED Lan Kolano
Misty Hathcock NC NTSP mchathco COED Teresa Petty
Ian Binns REEL ian.binns COED Mike Putman
Karen Cross REEL karencross COED Mike Putman
Ann Mickelson SPCD amickels COED Charles Wood
Chris O’Brien SPCD cpobrie COED Charles Wood
Cindy Gilson SPCD cgilson COED Charles Wood
Jennifer Warner Biological Sciences jmwarner CLAS Christine Richardson
Kathy Asala Chemistry kasala CLAS Bernadette Donovan-Merkert
Meghan Barnes (Fall ‘22)

JuliAnna Avila (Spring ‘23)
English mbarne56

CLAS Paula Eckard
Jamie Strickland Geography & Earth Sciences jstrickl CLAS Deborah Thomas
Andy Bobyarchick Geography & Earth Sciences arbobyar CLAS Deborah Thomas
Oscar Lansen History oelansen CLAS Amanda Pipkin
Vic Cifarelli* Mathematics & Statistic

Executive Committee Member
vvcifare CLAS Taufiquar Khan
Pedram Leilabady Physics & Optical Science pleilaba CLAS Glenn Boreman
Tesh Ramey Art & Art History tesh.ramey COA+A Angela Rajagopalan
Jane Dalton Art & Art History jdalto19 COA+A Angela Rajagopalan
Marissa Nesbit Dance mnesbit4 COA+A Gretchen Alterowitz
Fred Spano Music fspano COA+A Joe Skillen
Beth Murray Theatre emurra17 COA+A Delia Neil (Interim)
Lee Gray (Ex officio) Interim Senior Associate Provost legray Academic Affairs  
Malcolm Butler (Ex officio) Dean mbutle46 COED  
Vacant (Ex officio) Asst. Dean, Teaching & Innovation   COED  
Tisha Greene (Ex officio) Asst. Dean, OSCP tisha.greene COED  
Vacant (Ex officio) Teacher Recruiter   COED  
Liz Adkisson (Ex officio) TEAL Director ecsmith COED  
Brad Smith* (Ex officio) Assessment & Accreditation Director

Executive Committee Member
bradleysmith COED  
Tesh Ramey* (Ex officio) Arts Education Specialist

Executive Committee Member
tesh.ramey COA+A & COED  



  • Ex officio members serve due to their positions.
  • * = Executive Committee Member

Executive Committee:

Purpose: The Executive Committee makes decisions on broad issues, sets the agenda for the full Council, brings forth both information and recommendations to the full Council for discussion, implementation, approval, and occasionally for consensus vote. The Executive Committee works to ensure a focused and collaborative effort and to inform and coordinate the needs of the myriad of programs across campus. The Executive Committee represents the faculty of the teacher/professional education programs (and the larger Council) when the Dean of the College of Education or any Dean of a College or Chair of a Department housing a teacher/professional education program requires consultation regarding issues related to program and assessment initiatives and issues.

Membership: The Executive Committee of the PEC consists of an Associate Dean from each College that houses a teacher/professional education program, two members appointed by the Dean of the College of Education, and one member appointed by the Dean of each additional College that houses a teacher/professional education program.